The National Service-Learning Awards shine a spotlight on exemplary leaders from across the service-learning movement and nurtures the leaders of the future.  Awards are presented each spring at the National Service-Learning Conference.  


Brenda Elliot, 2014 winner of the G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Award
Above: Brenda Elliott, 2014 winner of the G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Award.
National Service-Learning Awards
 Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award

This award honors exemplary leaders who have inspired the service-learning field, positively impacting the lives of young people, and motivating others to take up the banner of service. Dickson worked with young people in his native England and abroad and founded Overseas Voluntary Service and Community Service Volunteers which have — in turn — inspired service programs worldwide.


 G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Leadership Award 

 This award honors individuals who, by example, have played a leadership role in urban schools, communities, and the lives of young people. Bernard Gill, a beloved NYLC staff member, was a pioneering leader in the urban service-learning movement. He organized the first and successive National Urban Service-Learning Institutes and was passionate about the engagement of African-American males and the impact service-learning could make on their lives.


 Service-Learning Practitioner Leadership Award

 This award recognizes those practitioners in public schools who have equipped young people to lead and serve, both through their direct work with youth and by nurturing other practitioners.


 Youth Leadership for Service-Learning Excellence Award

 This award recognizes K-12 service-learning programs and projects in public schools that demonstrate outstanding youth leadership.


 Stellar Award

 This award honors the late Stella Raudenbush’s work as a community activist, teacher, and spiritual seeker and passion for children, social justice, community, diversity, urban education, and elders.


 William James National Service Lifetime Achievement Award 

This award honors individuals who have demonstrated leadership, professionalism, and integrity and made significant contributions to the advancement of service-learning and national service over the majority of their professional lives. It is named after the philosopher and pacifist William James who described the foundation for nonmilitary service in the United States in a 1906 speech and subsequently in an essay entitled “The Moral Equivalent of War” (1910).